Failure to Register as a Sex Offender: Defense Lawyer in Lawrenceville
Are you accused of failing to register? Call me today.
If you have been convicted of a felony sex offense, you are required to register as a sex offender, no matter where you live, work, or if you move to another state. The central unit that manages sex offender registration is the Georgia Bureau of Investigation. Once convicted, and after having served any term of incarceration, and released back into the community, you now bear the burden of keeping your sex offender registration up to date. If you are caught in the criminal justice system on a failure to register, you need to contact me at my firm now, The Peevy Firm, P.C. I have over 30 years of experience in criminal defense, and can move into action at once to help you fight back.
The requirements include re-registering any time you move at the new jurisdiction. As states vary in rules, you may have moved from another state with different requirements and now face a charge of failing to register under Georgia laws. The consequences of a conviction for this crime are so serious that it is absolutely imperative that you get in touch with me at my firm, The Peevy Firm, P.C. I have 30 years of experience in criminal defense law, and I will do everything possible legally to protect your rights and help you fight to avoid incarceration.
Heavy Legal Consequences for Failing to Register in the State of Georgia
Any person who is required to register will have to provide the authorities with all of the necessary information before release from jail or prison, on parole, supervised release or on probation. Once returned to society, there are requirements that absolutely must be met if you hope to avoid serious legal trouble. The law requires that you respond to any request from the sheriff within 72 hours after the birthdate of the offender, will face felony charges that can include up to 20 years in prison. A second offense of a failure to register can lead to a sentence of life imprisonment.
Any time your information changes, you have only 72 hours to alert the sheriff of the changes. If you are moving you must inform the sheriff 72 hours prior to moving -- not after. Any person who has been convicted of a sex offense that requires registration and moves into the state has only 72 hours in which to contact the sheriff and law enforcement.
Are you facing charges of failing to register? Call me today to fight to avoid the heavy consequences of a conviction.