Child Endangerment Due To Intoxication When Driving

Lawrenceville DUI Attorney

Putting a child at risk because an individual was operating a vehicle when inebriated is against the law and can result in a misdemeanor or felony charge. Georgia code §40-6-391(l) has noted that if an individual operates a car when they are inebriated, and there is a minor who is younger than 14 present in the car, they have committed the crime of child endangerment. The penalties for putting a child's life at risk, because of operating a vehicle when inebriated are given in §16-12-1(d), which include that an individual who is found guilty one time, are subject to misdemeanor charge s, which will receive $1,000 maximum as financial penalty, they could also receive a year maximum in incarceration, receiving prison time as well as the financial penalty is possible - this includes individuals who have been found guilty two times in the crime as well, according to §16-12-1(d1).

Need a lawyer for a child endangerment case in Lawrenceville?

When the individual has been found guilty three times, they are subject to felony charges, which are given the penalty of $1,000 minimum and $5,000 maximum as financial penalty, as well as a year minimum to 3 years maximum in incarceration - the possibility of prison time as well as a financial penalty is permitted, as noted under §16-12-1(d2). According to §16-12-1(d.1 1) an individual who commits a crime that causes a minor to be severely harmed or killed, faces felony charges, which receive the penalty of a year minimum to 10 years maximum in incarceration if they have been found guilty of the crime one time, and for an individual that is found guilty two or more times of the crimes, receives 3 years minimum and 20 years maximum in incarceration, as noted under §1 6-12-1(e).

Georgia Law for Child Endangerment

According to Georgia code §16-12-1(d.1 2), when a minor wasn't severely harmed or killed in a crime that the individual was found guilty in, they are subject to misdemeanor charges, the penalty is $1,000 maximum as financial penalty as well as a year in incarceration. If the individual was found guilty two times in the crime , the individual faces severe misdemeanor charges, with the penalty of $1,000 minimum and $5,000 maximum as financial penalty as well as a year maximum in incarceration, under §16-12-1(d.1 3). According to §16-12-1(d 1.4), an individual that is found guilty three times is subject to felony charges, with the penalty of $10,000 minimum as financial penalty as well as a year minimum to 5 years maximum in incarceration. It is possible for an individual to receive the financial penalty as well as the prison time at the same time if found guilty in the crime, regardless of how many times they have been found guilty.

Need to consult a DUI attorney in Lawrenceville? Choose The Peevy Firm, P.C.!

Looking for a lawyer for a child endangerment case in Lawrenceville? Child endangerment crimes are serious crimes, and the penalties are heavy. Depending upon the number of times an individual was found guilty of the crime, the penalty will increase in severity. If you or a loved one has been charged with child endangerment, consult my firm to learn how I can assist you in your legal defense.