Charged With DUI in Lawrenceville?
Lawrenceville DUI Attorney
Driving under the influence (DUI) is a crime that can harm not only you, but also other drivers on the road and their passengers, as well. These crimes are not taken lightly in the state of Georgia. The prosecution will push to have you prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law when it comes to your criminal sentencing. DUI convictions go on both your criminal record and your driving record, so make sure you act now.
Get a Lawrenceville DUI lawyer on your side! Call (770) 648-2259 to contact The Peevy Firm, P.C. today.
Why You Need a Lawyer for Your DUI
It is important to remember that driving is a privilege and not a right and it can be taken away at any time. It is essential that you avoid DUI convictions at all costs, otherwise you could face incarceration, alcohol treatment programs, license suspension, even have an ignition interlock system installed in your vehicle, which means that it will not start if you have a certain level of alcohol in your breath.
In the state of Georgia, any person with a valid driver’s license is subject to the “implied consent law” which means that you are obliged to consent to any breath, blood or urine test if you are suspected of driving under the influence. If you fail or refuse to cooperate with law enforcement officials in this area, you license may be automatically suspended for up to a year.
The Peevy Firm, P.C. also wants to remind you that Georgia has a zero tolerance law for underage drivers when it comes to driving under the influence. If a
driver under the age of 21 is found with even a .02% or above they will be subject to certain DUI penalties as well.
Georgia Laws: Driving While Inebriated
According to Georgia code §40-6-391, if an individual is inebriated while operating a vehicle, they are outright breaking the law. The nationwide legal limit that has been adopted is .08%. If an individual's blood alcohol content level reaches above 0.08 plus grams during the 180 minutes after consuming alcohol and get behind the wheel of a car, they will have to face the consequences.
DUI Penalties in Georgia
- If you are found guilty as a first time DUI offender your license may be suspended for 90 days and you must spend at least 24 hours in jail, but it could be extended for up to 12 months. You will also be liable for a $600-$1,000 fine and 40 hours of community service along with DUI school and a mandatory alcohol treatment program.
- If you are convicted of a second DUI within a 10 year period, then you may spend anywhere from 72 hours – 12 months in jail, pay a fine ranging from $600-$1,000, complete 240 hours of community service, DUI school and alcohol evaluations and license suspension for 3 years. Once the three year period is over you will then have to have an ignition interlock device installed into your vehicle for a remainder of six months.
For underage DUI offenders your driver’s license may be revoked for up to six months or if your BAC was .08% or higher it may be suspended for a year. It is also important to keep in mind that if a child, 14 years old or younger, is in the vehicle when you were arrested for drunk driving then you may also encounter
child endangerment charges as well.
No matter if this is your first or subsequent DUI offense, it is vital that you obtain a qualified Lawrenceville criminal defense lawyer at once and fight to hold onto your license.
Enlist Effective Criminal Defense Today
Looking for an attorney for a DUI in Lawrenceville? DUI charges are serious. If you or someone you love is facing a DUI charge, seek legal aid from an attorney at The Peevy Firm, P.C. as soon as possible. The ramifications and penalties of such a crime are grave, but my firm can provide you with experienced and dedicated legal protection. Let my firm fight on your behalf to reach a successful verdict for your case.
Helpful DUI Resource Links